Recognition Awards

Nomination Criteria

Entry Categories

Public Service Award

Visibility Award

Life Achievement Award

Environmental Enhancement Award

Chapter Service Award

Chapter Support Award

The Wisconsin Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects establishes a collection of Recognition Awards to recognize persons and organizations who have displayed great commitment to the profession of landscape architecture.  Below is a list of actions that my deem a nomination for one of the available awards.  The list is by no means exhaustive, and open for interpretation.


  1. Enhanced the visibility of the profession of landscape architecture in Wisconsin.

  2. Promoted excellence in land planning and landscape design.

  3. Promoted professional ethics.

  4. Fostered environmental stewardship and enhanced quality of life.

  5. Promoted equality, diversity, inclusion and environmental justice.

  6. Fostered education, outreach and mentorship


Landscape Architect Student Scholarship

WI ASLA is pleased to announce a scholarship challenge for current UW-Madison Landscape Architecture sophomore and junior students (2nd and 3rd year students enrolled in the program). Award winners will be announced at the WI ASLA Annual Meeting in Green Bay, WI on October 21, 2022.


"Sketch Your Future Challenge"


Use one of ASLA’s 6 mission areas (Green Infrastructure, Racial Equity, Climate Action, Transportation for All, Water & Stormwater, and Parks & Recreation) to guide you on an exploration of a site of your choice. See for additional information on these mission areas. Choose an existing location that is meaningful to you, and create one before image of the site. Include a narrative to explain why you chose this site. Using the same site, create one after image of the site. Write a narrative to explain what you chose to change on site and why.


Must be a sophomore or junior student (2nd and 3rd year in the program). Two $1,000

scholarships will be awarded: one to a current sophomore student and one current junior student enrolled in the UW-Landscape Architecture program.




All entries must be received by 5:00 PM CST on Friday, September 30, 2022

Award Winning Entries

The award winners will be notified several weeks prior to the awards ceremony. This year, we are pleased to announce that the Awards Ceremony will be hosted in conjunction with the WI ASLA Annual Meeting in Green Bay, WI on October 21, 2022. Attendance at the meeting is not required. Winners will be notified by October 7th, 2022. 


Questions regarding any entries should be directed to

Professional Awards 


The Wisconsin Chapter of The American Society of Landscape Architects (WI ASLA) invites ALL qualified individuals and firms to submit entries for landscape architecture projects located in or out of the State of Wisconsin. All applicants must have primary involvement in their entry and must clearly describe their role in the project. Additionally, projects entered must be submitted with the consent of the client or owner. Submitting more than one entry in any given category and/or across categories is encouraged as the jury has the ability to select multiple projects within each category to be recognized with an award.

Entry Categories

General Design

Small Scale Design (formerly Residential Design)

Un-Built Works

Analysis and Planning



Awards and Jury

Entries may be awarded within the three levels listed below:

•   Award of Excellence – one possible award selected from all entries

•   Honor Award – one possible award per category

•   Merit Award – as many as the jury finds exemplary

The jury will be comprised of landscape architects from a partnering chapter of ASLA.